What to do if You Are Ticketed for Driving with an Expired Registration

If you are a Will County or Illinois resident who has been ticketed for driving with an expired registration, your first step should be renewing it to show you are now driving with a valid registration. In Will County or anywhere in Illinois, the penalty for driving with expired registration is a $90 fine. Additionally, a person renewing their registration over 30 days late will be assessed a $20 late registration fee.

If an Illinois resident was caught driving with expired registration in Joliet, the resident would want to contact the Joliet court listed on the ticket and find out what the usual fine is. During this phone call the resident should find out whether renewing the registration before the court date will help with the citation.

Having expired registration can have other consequences.   If for example, a Will County resident with expired car registration parked in Chicago for an evening, they would be subject to a parking ticket for having that expired registration.

However, an Illinois resident that has renewed their registration and has subsequently been ticketed for expired registration can bring proof of that registration to court. This may happen when a person has renewed their registration and has not yet received their sticker.

If you or someone you know lives in Joliet or Will County, Illinois and has any questions or concerns regarding being ticketed for expired registration contact Hamilton & Antonsen at 815.729.9220 to set up a free consultation.

Written by: Michael Pollock

Leave a comment

* Required field

*