Hamilton & Antonsen
DUI Defense Attorney in Will County
Driving Under the Influence Defense Attorney in Joliet, Illinois
Anyone charged with driving under the influence (DUI) of alcohol or drugs in Joliet needs an experienced Will County DUI defense lawyer. It is extremely important to understand that a DUI is a criminal offense, and it will result in a criminal record if you are convicted. A DUI conviction will always result in a high monetary fine and a driver’s license revocation. Further, depending upon the specific circumstances of the case, a DUI may result in jail time. An aggressive Joliet DUI attorney can help you to fight these charges and to develop a solid defense strategy for your case.
What is a DUI in Joliet, Illinois?
Driving while under the influence of alcohol or drugs can be charged under Illinois law in a variety of circumstances. Illinois law makes it unlawful to drive or to be in actual physical control of a vehicle in any of the following circumstances:
- Blood alcohol concentration of 0.08 or more;
- Under the influence of alcohol;
- Under the influence of an intoxicating drug;
- Under the influence of a drug or combination of drugs that makes the personal incapable of safe driving;
- Under the combined influence of alcohol and drugs; and
- Under the influence of a prescription drug.
What are the Penalties for a DUI in Will County?
Will County takes DUI charges extremely seriously and anyone convicted of a DUI faces serious consequences. DUI penalties in Illinois depend upon whether it is a first offense, the amount of alcohol in a person’s system, and whether anyone was injured as a result of the intoxicated driving. Common penalties include:
- First offense:
Up to 364 days in jail, up to 100 hours of community services, a fine of anywhere from $500 to $2,500, and a license revocation of 1 year;
- Second offense:
Up to 364 days in jail (with a minimum of 5 days in many cases), up to seven years of community services, a fine of anywhere from $1,250 to $2,500, and a license revocation of five years; and
- Third offense:
Up to seven years of imprisonment, a fine of anywhere from $2,500 to $25,000, and a license revocation of 10 years.
Traffic Law Topics of Interest
For more information regarding some specific aspects of traffic law in Joliet and the greater Will County area, please see the topics below
Seek Assistance from a Will County DUI Defense Attorney
If you are facing DUI charges, a Joliet defense attorney can help. Call Hamilton & Antonsen in Joliet at 815.729.9220 or contact us to schedule a free case evaluation today.